Is this Jesus for real?

Posted: April 9, 2012 in Thoughts
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Is this Jesus for real? That is a question I asked myself one night because I really didn’t know. I was a “Christian” for about 8 years at that point, but the problem was I never really made the decision if it was true, for me.  I went with the flow and never really thought about it.

So that night I laid it all out there. It’s not like God didn’t know what I was thinking anyway. I started saying, “Is Jesus real? With all I believe in, is it worth it? Am I just going to end up being disappointed? What is faith anyway”? That question led me to this verse:

Now faith is the substance of things hoped for, the evidence of things not seen. Hebrews 11:1

I knew in my heart that it wasn’t all a lie but my mind was having trouble. So I started reciting this verse over and over because I truly wanted to understand. I looked up substance = tangible, then I looked up evidence = proof.

My thought process was like this: Faith is the substance something tangible…Faith is the evidence the proof for things not seen. Faith is the tangible proof of the things I cannot see. That was it! It’s a choice! Either you believe or you don’t. All these questions became meaningless once I decided to simply believe.

It may sound like an easy answer for some, but for me it was like all my senses had to come together.

My faith, before that night looked like this: A house made out of jello…from far away it looks stable, but you get close and pressure it a little and the whole thing shakes.

My faith after that night was this: The making of a new home made of bricks on a solid foundation. This house is still being built to this day and every brick is precious to me.

You want to know if this Jesus is real. I can tell you with no doubt in my heart, mind, and body, that yes, he is. However, that is and always will be a choice you have to make for yourself.

This verse I leave you with is one of the most popular verses in the bible and for good reason. It sums up why we have the hope that we do and why we can have a relationship with God that we do.

“For God loved the world so much that he gave his one and only Son, so that everyone who believes in him will not perish but have everlasting life”. John 3:16

I sincerely hope you find your answer, like I found mine.

Leave a Reply

