I am now in my 30’s and I don’t think I have really ever understood love. I have always thought of love as a man loves a woman, or receiving positive attention from people in the form of gifts or praise.  During my years as a Christian, people would talk of love; Jesus loves you, we love you, I love you. However, I never really believed it and the reason I never believed it is because I never understood what love really was.

I read this scripture this morning:

If I could speak all the languages of earth and of angels, but didn’t love others, I would only be a noisy gong or a clanging cymbal. If I had the gift of prophecy, and if I understood all of God’s secret plans and possessed all knowledge, and if I had such faith that I could move mountains, but didn’t love others, I would be nothing. If I gave everything I have to the poor and even sacrificed my body, I could boast about it; but if I didn’t love others, I would have gained nothing.  1 Corinthians 13:1

I started to think…this love is really important. If I could have faith to move mountains, the promise to see greater things than I’ve ever seen, if I could speak in the tongues of angels and cast out demons or heal the sick, this means absolutely nothing without love. But I was still in a confused state caught between the image I have had of love and what God says love is. Where’s the line? What’s the difference? How do I “love“?

So after 12+ years of being a Christian I finally looked up for myself what the Lord says love is. Now this may seem like common sense, but I never thought of doing that until today. The devil wants to keep God’s children in a state of confusion as to make his job of destroying us easier. Now that the Lord has given me that knowledge, it’s easier to see the smoke screens disguised as road blocks the devil tries to place in our path so we don’t go any further in our pursuit of God.  While looking up the passage of verses associated with describing love, the Lord put in my mind to look up the “normal” definition of love in the dictionary. What was found really opened my eyes!

Definition of love according to dictionary.com:

1. a profoundly tender, passionate affection for another person.

2. a feeling of warm personal attachment or deep affection, as for a parent, child, or friend.

3. sexual passion or desire.

Now, here is what God says love is:

Love is patient and kind. Love is not jealous or boastful or proud or rude. It does not demand its own way. It is not irritable, and it keeps no record of being wronged. It does not rejoice about injustice but rejoices whenever the truth wins out. Love never gives up, never loses faith, is always hopeful, and endures through every circumstance.  1 Corinthians 13:4-7

After reading these two descriptions my mind was opened!  I began to see that the version of love that I had was the world’s view of love; an emotion based on “feeling“, a tender thought, a sexual desire, a passionate affection. Everything I thought love was, was twisted and not the true selfless love that God had created. The devil took God’s love and turned it into something backwards, sinful, and dirty. That love is based on basic initial feelings of desire and acting on them. We are trained that if we do not see love reciprocated in this manner, that it isn’t love. This kind of false love bares the fruit of jealousy, hatred, emptiness, and misplaced reliance of your self worth on the other person. The happiness that comes from this kind of love never lasts long, and if you let it, it can alter your state of living. This false love keeps you in a place of being less than what God created you to be.

Love is patient, kind, not jealous, not boastful, not proud, not rude. It does not demand it’s own way, it’s not irritable, keeps no record of wrongs, does not rejoice in unjust behaviors, it is filled with joy and excitement when the truth wins and is shown, it never gives up, never loses faith, always trusts, always hopeful, and endures through every circumstance.

This love, my friends, is the love we were always meant to have.

The false love that the devil is pushing, is selling all over the world as seen in TV, movies, ads, internet, everywhere you turn this “love” is jammed down our throats as acceptable and right.  I am someone that has followed this false love for over 30 years and it really is an eye-opener when you compare the two.  If you are reading this and like me, the version of love you have is not the true love that God teaches, I encourage you to read the definitions again and again. I will be doing the same thing. Remember the enemy will come and try to steal the knowledge that you’ve gained…keep it safe. Stay in the Word of God! I can now say with all confidence Jesus loves you and so do I.

Comments
  1. […] “Love” What is it…really? (livingwithexpectancy.wordpress.com) […]

  2. […] “Love” What is it…really? (livingwithexpectancy.wordpress.com) […]

  3. Solomon says:

    Of a truth t’was an eye opener about what love truly mean,cos many lncluding l have lost in closet ln search of this thing called,LOVE.Pls update me more abt that to share to my friends. God bless U.

Leave a Reply

