Faith to Fear to Faith Again

Posted: December 5, 2012 in Devotional, General, Thoughts
Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

17. Listen (consent and submit) to the words of the wise, and apply your mind to my knowledge;

18. For it will be pleasant if you keep them {my words} in your mind [believing them]; your lips will be accustomed to [confessing] them.

19. So that your trust (belief, reliance, support, and confidence) may be in the Lord, I have made known these things to you today, even to you.

AMP Proverbs 22:17-19

Its amazing to me how the enemy can take our genuine dependency on the Lord and twist it all up. I started out reading a chapter in proverbs for 7 days at a time. I wanted to become wise in God’s way because I knew my way wasn’t ever going to work in the long run. Gradually I started becoming anxious about regaining the information from the bible and using it in my daily life. Not even realizing this was taking place in my mind, I started being scared of making the smallest of decisions without extensive prayer. You would think that’s the way to go, right?

Here’s the reality: Stuck in fear.  Not trusting as I should.  The enemy took the Word of God and weaved it into a massive string of lies with the goal to make me this, once again, fearful and extremely anxious little girl. To destroy my faith and myself.

I was not enjoying the life and freedom found in Christ. And experiencing this has me realize just how smart the enemy is, and how faithful God is to open my eyes and show me the lies at the right time. If He had shown me any later, how deep into the pit would I have gone? If He had showed me any earlier, would I have truly learned anything?

The Lord will never leave you nor forsake you! Trust in that and be it a test, trial, or an attack, our Father will take those times and turn them around for our good and when we lean and trust in God, our hope will not be disappointed.

I’m still in the same place; I don’t know a lot of things but here’s where it gets clear…I’m not anxious, not afraid, today is enough for me.  Jesus my saviour, will carry me and guide me in His own way and own time, and He will not let me fall!

I am not so special that God would show me this alone. What’s for me is also for you. Trust, lean, and rely on God and you too may come into times like these, because there are things to learn and the devil just doesn’t like you, but the Lord will be with you always and not allow you to fall.

Another page in the book of faith has turned. Are you ready?

Leave a Reply

